RSS Feed

Book Lovers

Posted on

This entry is for all of you who love reading and books as much as I do.  I love reading books of all kinds.  Among my faves are Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, and Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montegomery.  I also enjoy some Christian fiction such as works by Francine Rivers and Janette Oke.  Mysteries have been a long time favorite of mine.  I started out with the Happy Hollisters and Nancy Drew as a child and most recently, Lillian Jackson Braun and Joanne Fluke.  Lillian Jackson Braun writes the Cat Who series featuring newspaper man, Jim Quillerman and his two cats, Koko and Yum-Yum.  Joanne Fluke writes the Hannah Swensen series.  These books feature some great recipes.  Both are perfect for a light entertaining read.  To find out more about these and other authors check Cozy Mysteries.  I do at times wish for more serious reading.  When in this mood, I reach for something like Memoirs of a Geisha or James Patterson.  I haven’t read any of Patterson’s mystery/thriller books although I hear that they are great.  He also writes some wonderful novels such as Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas.  Occasionally I will pick up a biography or autobiography of someone who interests me like Eleanor Roosevelt or Audrey Hepburn.  I have found that the biggest problem with a book hobby is the money involved.  I love searching the sale tables at Waldenbooks and Books-A-Million.  We also have a used bookstore in town that has a little of everything.  Hard to find books can usually be located at Amazon.  I like to visit www.bookcloseouts.com when searching for good deals.  One last thing I’d like to share is a great gift I received from my husband.  All book lovers should have their very own library kit.  You can find yours online at places like Knockknock, Uncommongoods, Kaboodle, and Amazon.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

Leave a Reply

