RSS Feed

LP Acquisition Disorder

Posted on

For sometime now, my dear hubby has been carrying on about getting a record player. I laughed, told him I thought it was silly, and go ahead if you find a good deal. Well, Friday evening we were at the Attic (a large indoor flea market) in Texarkana and there it was. He found a record player for a whopping $7.50. The rest of the weekend was spent looking for records to play. As it turns out, it’s kind of fun searching for records and finding a great deal. I had forgotton how good a vinyl record sounds. We’ve been turning off the old TV and just listening to albums. It’s been so much fun. I’m now quite excited about the whole thing and just absolutely love it when we add something new to the collection. We spent Saturday visiting thrift stores and flea markets in the area. We stopped Monday at an outdoor flea market/yard sale and found some great stuff. Thus far we’ve paid anywhere from $0.25 to $1.00 per album. We did pay $3.00 a piece for three albums at one place, but that’s the most we’ve spent. One thrift store had 4 or 5 tubs of albums for $0.25 a piece. We really had a blast there and left with about $10.00 worth of albums. I now love the record player as much as my husband does and I’m having just as much fun. My husband thinks that this is cool, funny, and sweet.

the infamous record player that started it all

How’s this for the beginning of a collection?


A couple of shots of me and the collection

My love of musicals expresses itself

Is any collection complete without some jazz, swing, and brass?

Music for an island getaway

A little Mitch Miller anyone?


A sampling of our world music collection

Old School (aka before Elmo)






About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

4 responses »

  1. wow, nice work!
    I see ya’ll found some milk crates

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Now in Hi-Fidelity Fun-a-round Sound! « Gentlemanbeggar

  3. I am very proud to say that I don’t own any of the pictured albums.

    Reply
  4. I just popped across from your husband’s very eclectic blog and now I am going to be spending some more time here by the look of it…great finds

    Reply

Leave a Reply

