RSS Feed

Thrifty, Eco-friendly Cleaning Tips

I found a new blog today called A Thrifty Mrs. In one of her posts she offered some homemade cleaning recipes. I highly recommend a look see. Her recipes used baking soda, salt, and borax. These are all wonderful cleaning supplies. I use borax and baking soda to clean our home on a regular basis. The article inspired me to share one of my cleaning tips. My friend, Robyn, shared this with me and it is wonderful. We make our own laundry detergent using borax, baking soda, bar soap, and essential oil. It cleans our clothes beautifully, costs so much less than buying bottles and powders at the store, it lasts twice as long as the store bought, and there are no worries about my husband’s sensitive skin. I highly recommend this to everyone. The full recipe is as follows.

6 cups Borax
8 cups Baking Soda
4 cups soap
1/2 Tbsp essential oil

We use Safeguard soap. One can buy 10 bars for $3.50 at Wal-Mart. You can use any soap of your choosing. Just grate using a regular cheese grater. Essential oils can be purchased at health food stores or online. I really like ordering from Glory Bee. We have used tea tree oil, peppermint oil, Euclyptus oil, Orange oil, and currently Cedarwood oil. We store and make our detergent in a 5 gallon bucket. Use a 1/8 cup of detergent per load of laundry. Also, I use a Downy ball with vinegar. The vinegar helps break down the soap and eliminate odors. I hope you find this helpful and please check out the recipes offered by A Thrifty Mrs. Before I close this post, I want to mention a site I found all of 3 seconds ago. It is an online book called Baking Soda Book. It tells you all about baking soda and how it can be used around your home. It looks interesting and I can’t wait to read more tips and hints for how I can use this great product.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. Hey it is Daisy here AKA a thrifty mrs. Thanks for recommending my site, only just found these recomendations. Thanks!
    Great blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

