RSS Feed

Renaissance Faire Fun


Some of you may be asking yourselves, “What does Stuart Little have in common with a Ren Faire?” This is a very good question and until Saturday evening I would have answered, “Nothing.” Sherwood Forest Archery had a booth set up and were seeking willing customers. Many of the men were jumping at the opportunity. The female population, however, was a little less eager. I’m sure you can guess into which category I fell. I politely declined the first offer they made. A short while after the rain shower that popped up, I was again asked if I would like to shoot a bow and arrow. I started to politely decline once again. Then, the thought of telling my nephew, who is really into hunting right now, that Aunt Lissie shot a bow and arrow popped into my head. Taking a deep breath I did something which for me is somewhat unusual. I stepped out of my comfort zone and participated rather than just being a spectator. As it turns out archery is really quite fun! I came back later and paid $3.00 for the fun and pleasure of shooting ten more arrows. The lesson and first try was free. Afterwards, I was awarded my very own Stuart Little. The lord of Sherwood Archery said it was for being such a good sport. Stepping out of my comfort zone is something I plan to do more often.  Stuart Little will always be with me shouting, “You Go Girl!”  What is your “You Go  Girl” mascot?

Here are a few shots from our adventure. The chain maille bracelet was made by our friend Doug who accompanied us on this trip. It was made using a Dragon Scale pattern. I was quite impressed with his work and thought it quite beautiful.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. Hey,Mel, Looks like you had fun….good for you!!!
    your new bracelet is lovely what talent Doug has…You all take care…Love Momma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

