RSS Feed

Count Your Blessings!

Has anyone else noticed that as soon as the Halloween goodies are gone from the store shelves, the Christmas goodies appear? It’s already starting to get more and more crowded at the stores. My nephews are already talking about Christmas trees and their Mom and Dad have already put up lights outside. I love Christmas! It is one of my fave holidays and I have nothing against Christmas trees or lights. I only have one question. What happened to Thanksgiving? You remember Thanksgiving don’t you? It’s that day set aside to count our blessings and show some gratitude. If you’re still having trouble remembering then think about pilgrims, indians, turkey, and pumpkin pie! Remember, yet? Well, I’ve been giving a great deal of thought to Thanksgiving and even making a “blessings” list to help put me in the right frame of mind. Thus far my list includes my sweet husband, my nieces and nephews, my newest niece (Kyleigh) coming into this world happy and healthy, my new hat of course (see previous post), email from The Peach (my package is on its way), and even the mundane, like finished laundry. I have also decided to participate in National Tie One On Day (see button at right)! I purchased an apron the other day and plan to deliver it and some pumpkin bread to some dear friends. I’m already looking forward to the opportunity to visit with my adopted grandparents. And finally in the spirit of Autumn and Thanksgiving my decorations.

Simple table decor

These flowers and paper decorations are found on a record stand


These cardboard cutouts were purchased 3 for $1.00 and remind me of my childhood! They are gracing my kitchen cabinets.
Have a Wonderful Thanksgiving and don’t forget to Count your Blessings!

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

2 responses »

  1. I love your decorations! Those cutouts look like ones I had when I was growing up too. 🙂

    I’m with you…I saw Christmas decorations at Lowe’s 2 weeks before Halloween! That’s just a tad outrageous. Poor Thanksgiving has been totally upended this year by companies trying to market items super early due to the economy. Frustrating really. I guess I want each holiday to have their fair share. Maybe that’s old-fashioned of me?

    Loving your blog, by the way. Keep up the super work!

    Reply
  2. Thank you Jami for the wonderful comment! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog and if it’s old-fashioned to want each holiday to have their fair share, then just call me old-fashioned!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

