RSS Feed

March – Book Review

I have long been a fan of Louisa May Alcott. Little Women is my all time favorite book. I was excited to discover that Geraldine Brooks had written a book about Mr. March, the father of Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy. March is a wonderful book. I was captured at the very first word and couldn’t put the book down. It is, however, a difficult book. As the reader, you will travel with Mr. March as he goes to war against the south in a fight for freedom. Mrs. Brooks makes the war real and makes slavery real. The reality of the way one human being can view and treat another is frightening and heart wrenching. I had the pleasure of accompanying Mr. March in battle and through sickness and even experienced his guilt as well as his horror. In spite of the harshness, I enjoyed the book and look forward to reading more of Geraldine Brooks.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

2 responses »

  1. This is the only Brooks novel I’ve read, but I really liked it too. It was insightful and I liked this view of the March family.

    Reply
    • This is the first one of her books I’ve read. I recently purchased People of the Book and am looking forward to reading it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

