RSS Feed

Wedding Proposal

A couple of days ago, I published a post entitled L and W in which I mentioned my wedding ring and my husband’s somewhat unusual wedding proposal. I received a comment asking about the proposal and decided the explanation was long enough to warrant an entire post. Hubby and I love going to renaissance faires and dressing up. When we were dating we discovered a faire called The Castle in Muskogee, Oklahoma. I have an aunt and uncle who lived there at the time. We ended up going to faire and staying with my family. This became an annual tradition. That first year we wanted to get a picture with King Henry VIII. As we approached to request a picture he noticed that we were holding hands. King Henry asked my husband if he knew how to declare his love to his lady. Hubby and said he believed that he did and was promptly instructed to demonstrate. He did not, however, do it to suit the King. King Henry proceeded to stop a passerby and show hubby how it was done. The correct way it seems is as loudly as one can and with as much flowery, outlandish language as one can. Hubby again declared his love. The king was satisfied and we moved on without our picture. As the year passed we fell more and more in love and began to talk about marriage. We agreed to an intimate wedding ceremony with the Justice of the Peace. I wanted hubby to formally propose and asked him to make it special. All I really wanted was to go back to the restaurant where we had our first date and have him pop the question. I really didn’t mean anything too out there or crazy. I probably should have been more specific. Than again, maybe not. I wouldn’t trade my proposal for anything in the world. As per tradition, we attended the renaissance faire and that year a masked ball as well. Hubby even made our masks for the ball. As the ball was coming to an end, King Henry rose from his throne and announced that last year he taught a certain skill to a certain gentleman who wanted to demonstrate what he had learned. Hubby then stood up and declared his love loudly enough for all to hear and as outlandishly as humanly possible. He ended the show by dropping down on one knee and asking me to marry him. I, of course, said yes and we are living happily ever after.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

2 responses »

  1. Oh wow! That is so cool! What a terrific story. And I love the photo.

    Reply
  2. Very cool! It’s awesome that you got a picture, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

