RSS Feed

Grandma, Kewpies, and Me

All right, all right, I know Valentine’s Day has already past, but I simply had to share these adorable, vintage-looking Kewpie Valentines from Zakka Life. Kewpies. Most of the time when I mention the word kewpie, I am met by a blank stare. This is especially true of people my age and younger. That said, I want to introduce the world to kewpies. Kewpies were created by Rose O’Neill in the early nineteen hundreds. She had a dream one night and upon awaking began to draw. Ms. O’Neill is a fascinating woman. She was married and divorced twiced and worked as an illustrator in a time when divorce was taboo and illustration was a man’s job. Back to the kewpies. They first appeared in a ladies magazine as part of an ongoing story and made several appearances in Jello ads. My love of kewpies began with my grandma, Ethel Morgan. She had a few kewpies of her own and gave me my first sweet cherub. I have been hooked ever since.

I was even fortunate enough to visit Bonniebrook, in Branson, Missiouri. Bonniebrook was Rose O’Neill’s home and workshop. Below are pics from my visit.

So there you have it folks. A brief disscussion of kewpies. Hope I’ve piqued your interest and if anyone out there likes kewpies or has a few please comment. I’d love to hear from you. Oh, and if you like the Valentine above visit Zakka Life, follow the links, and download your own.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

Leave a Reply

