RSS Feed

The Flamboya Tree – Book Review

I have heard often about Hitler, Germany and WWII, yet rarely have I heard much of Japan’s actions during the war (except, of course, Pearl Harbor). This book is told by a woman who spent 4 years in a concentration camp on the island of Java. She was Dutch and the Japanese sent the Dutch men to work camps and the women and children to concentration camps. This book captures a time and place in history that shouldn’t be overlooked or forgotten. It also tells of a mother’s love and tireless effort to keep her family together and take care of her children in a most difficult and stressful time. The above sentence really doesn’t begin to describe the conditions in the camp, but it is the best I can do. I highly recommend reading this book. It is a difficult read because of the subject, but well worth the effort.

The Flamboya Tree by Clara Olink Kelly

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. Wonderful review! Thanks for bring my attention to this book, I added it to my TBR.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

