RSS Feed

Attack of the Honey Bees

I kept my nephews Wednesday and Thursday lastweek and then we babysat/housesat for some friends over the weekend. Again, I kept my nephews on Monday and Tuesday. I had been looking forward to a bit of break and a chance to catch up on reading and household chores. Just when I thought my wish was coming true and I could relax the honey bees arrived!

One little bee doesn’t seem too threatening. Now try to imagine around two thousand of these little honey bees in your kitchen and laundry room. This has been the adventure of the day. I stepped into the kitchen this afternoon only to discover a couple dozen bees. I immediately stepped out and called my dear husband. He came home from work for a few minutes to help assess the situation. Now, I am more than capable of handling such situations myself, however, Hubby and I are both allergic and in my moment of panic I forgot about our pest control contract. So hubby came home, and we called our pest control service to ask for help and they suggested we sit tight until Saturday. I attempted to calmly explain that that would not work for us. So, they agreed to come at around 6:30 PM. We closed the kitchen door and hubby returned to work. Let me just take a moment to say how grateful and blessed we are in my husband’s current employment. He is close to home and works with some wonderful people. Later, when he returned home he went to inspect the kitchen and noticed some bees outside the kitchen window. He went outside to check and found a cloud of bees. He dragged me outside to see for myself. This cloud of swarming honeybees went from the ground up to about a foot and half above the roof and from the house to just past the wellhouse about fifteen feet away. The cloud had vanished by the time pest control arrived. They found them in the laundry room. Apparently they had found a way in and had decided to take up housekeeping. A bomb or two were set off and we were immediately and unexpectedly evicted for the night. Again, we are blessed to have wonderful friends, one of which immediately offered a bed. We are hoping the bees will be gone by tomorrow evening and we will be given the all clear by pest control. Life is such an adventure!

Editor’s Note:  We were given the all the clear on Friday night and are safely back in our house.  Cleaning up is turning out to be a real hoot!  All the kitchen surfaces must be cleaned as well as all the dishes.  Also, most of our clothes were hanging in the laundry room and now all of them must be washed.  We’ve been working in the kitchen and are nearly ready to begin in the laundry room.  We did get tickled upon realizing that the cleaning supplies which we keep in the Laundry would need to be cleaned before use.  This led to the purchase of cleaning supplies to clean our cleaning supplies.  Things are a little chaotic, but we are blessed.  No one was hurt, clothes and such can be washed, and we have wonderful loving family and friends.  I want to thank all of you for your well wishes and sweet words!

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

4 responses »

  1. Oh how scary!! I’m somewhat allergic, too (must take an antihistamine *immediately*!) and I’d be very scared.

    Reply
  2. wow, what a coincidence, a friend of mine just had this happen to him, too!
    he said his wife made a post about it in her blo….oh, wait…. 🙂

    seriously, such a crazy one-in-a-thousand event. hope y’all get settled back quickly
    if there’s anything we can do, just holler

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh! That’s crazy!! I hope they are gone now..let us know 🙂

    Reply
  4. OH my gosh! I’m not allergic but that would frighten the living daylights out of me! Hope you get settled back in soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

