RSS Feed

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This was a wonderful book! It takes place in Germany during World War II and follows a little girl named Liesel. The author does an excellent job of depicting life in Germany at this time for an ordinary family struggling to survive. At times there is compromise and courage. You will meet Liesel’s foster parents, the Hubberman’s and her friend Rudy. You will also meet the people who make up the little community in which Liesel lives and the Jew she and Hubberman’s hide. This story is as much about words as it is about Liesel. Words interest and excite Liesel. She yearns for them to point of thievery. She learns of the power of words to influence for good and evil. One of the most fascinating aspects of this book is the narrator. The story is told by Death and is his way of trying to understand the complexities of humanity. This narration gives the story a most interesting perspective. I must warn that this book is difficult to read because of the subject matter. War, death, hunger, human atrocities always make for difficult subject matter. Please don’t let my warning discourage you from picking up this book. The story of the book thief is well worth the time and effort.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

5 responses »

  1. This has been on my list for awhile. Can’t wait to read it!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: WordPress Censorship « Marmalade

  3. “The Book Thief” is simply a wonderful book. it works on many levels. It is beautifully printed also. One of the themes of the book is how reading shapes lives and countries. I long forward to many more books by Markus Zusak

    Reply
  4. This was a book that moved me and made me cry. One of the good books I’ve read. 🙂 I’m glad you found it wonderful too.

    Reply
  5. I loved this book too. Beautifully written and very moving. It has joined my list of favourites. I am reading off UK’s The Big Read with a friend.
    I have just finished Northern Lights by Phillip Pullman today, and must wait for my son to finish the trilogy before I can continue.
    Good luck with your 2010 list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

