RSS Feed

Bram Stoker’s Dracula – Movie

Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight books have made vampires cool. Everywhere you turn, especially this time of year, there are vampires. I admit I’ve been bitten. I went back to one of the earliest vampire stories, Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I am currently reading the book and Wednesday night I watched the movie for the first time. I don’t usually enjoy scary movies and was a little nervous about this one. It was scary in all the right ways and I did enjoy the story. It seemed a bit slow in places and there was a great deal more sexual overtones than I expected, but I enjoyed the love story between Dracula and Mina. This is a very visual movie and takes a good deal of concentration to pick up on all the nuances. I may need to watch it again, just to be certain I didn’t miss anything. Some parts are becoming more clear as I read the book. I am finding some differences between the two and will talk more when I have completed the book. It is an entertaining movie especially if you like a creepy sort of scary.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. I’ve never watched this version all the way through. I’ve been meaning to retry because I love Gary Oldman, but I just couldn’t get into it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

