RSS Feed

Dracula – Book Review


by Bram Stoker

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I had always thought that it would be too scary and although it had its fearful, creepy moments it was nothing like I expected. The story is told through the journals of the main characters. It begins with Jonathan Harker meeting Count Dracula in his home. The story then travels to England where you’ll meet Mina, Jonathan’s fiancee, and her friend Lucy. You will meet Lucy’s beaus, Dr. Seward, Arthur, and Quincy. Dr. Van Helsing enters the scene when Lucy becomes ill. The story returns to Dracula’s home for its climatic ending. This is a lovely gothic story with a struggle between good and evil that is timeless. I will say that the book is quite different from the Coppola’s movie. Bram Stoker never wrote an ageless love story between Dracula and Mina. She was in love with and devoted to Jonathan beginning to end. It is still a wonderful story and one I recommend reading. I am glad I decided to give it a go in spite of my reservations.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. This book TOOK OVER MY BRAIN when I read it (about 13ish). I couldn’t stop thinking about it, I wrote little scenes based on it, I was obsessed. :O

    Reply

Leave a Reply

