RSS Feed

Halloween Party 09 is a Success!!

I realize I’ve been absent for about a week and I’ve missed my blogging friends terribly. My absence was due to our annual Halloween Gala. Last week the countdown to party time began and things were indeed hectic. The party took place on Saturday, October 24th. This year we chose pirates for our theme and we created a pirate treasure hunt. Each group had a list of clues to find that would eventually lead them to the pirate shack of Captain Worley. We also purchased a picture of a peg leg pirate with the face cut out that we hung in the doorway. We then took everyone’s picture in it and gave it to them to take home as a souvenir. This was enjoyed by kids and adults alike. As for the food, we served sliced apples with a peanut butter/caramel dip, chips and dip, and little mini pumpkin pies. Everyone seemed to enjoy the evening and we felt happy and exhausted at night’s end.

invites
Here are the invitations that were sent out. The font is called 1742frenchcivilite and I found it on www.dafont.com.



Our party favors kept with the pirate theme and, of course, candy was included although not pictured. I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get to keep a ball and jack set. I thought they were quite cool!


As you can see from this picture of my husband and nephews we made eye patches and earrings available for all. We lucked into a four for a dollar deal at Wal-Mart.


This is just a shot of my table before all the food was ready, but you can see the decor and the general set up.


Here are my little mini pumpkin pies. They were a big hit and I was quite proud of how they turned out. I found the recipe at Bakerella, which is a lovely website full of fun and sweets. Click here to get the recipe.


Above is a picture of one of the clues. We also threw in a few fake clues just to make it interesting and challenging. Below are some shots from the maze.



And now for Captain Worley’s pirate shack…
My husband and his friend worked long and hard to complete this end to the pirate treasure hunt.

This is the shack from the outside. On the inside we find treasure galore and the bones of old Captain Worley himself!


Below is one of the pirate pics that we took for our guests to take home. The pretty little girl is Bailey. She’s the sweet daughter of dear friends.

I just had to share my Edgar Allan Poe table with all of you. It was a late inspiration and I am quite pleased with the result.

Here is a group shot of all the kids at the party and some random pics of Hubby, myself, and our nephews.


Well, there you have it folks, a happy, festive Halloween event! We are now off to Arkansas to spend Halloween with our niece, nephews, my mom, my sister, and my brother-in-law. One nephew is having a birthday this weekend as well so be looking for more fun pictures and a special birthday wish. Also, I finished reading Dracula which is why this post has taken so long to write. Check back soon for my review and Have a Happy and Safe Halloween!

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

2 responses »

  1. WOW!!!!!! Fabulous decorations and costumes. Awesome.

    Reply
  2. Oh my god, this is AWESOME! I am more jealous than you will ever know. Every year, my mom and I talk about having a huge Halloween party (and we’ve been talking about it since I was probably 12, so over a decade…), and every year, something happens or we get lazy, and it never happens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

