RSS Feed

Persuasion – Book Review


Persuasion by Jane Austen

I enjoyed this book every bit as much as the movie. I was again by turns both amused and angered by Anne’s friends and relatives. The movie was pretty faithful to the book. There were, however, one or two things more thoroughly explained in the book. Also, I received a great deal more insight into the relationship between Anne and Captain Wentworth. I identify with Anne. Though happily married, I found my prince a bit later in life than most. I was becoming quite happy in my spinsterhood, when I met my husband. We were friends for a time and both a bit surprised by falling in love. Anne often endured her family’s slights and misguided attempts at her happiness and their own. I felt as though Anne was quite misunderstood. I have felt this way myself on many occasions. I do love my family as Anne did and as I am sure many of you do as well. I believe most of us feel a bit misunderstood at one time or another by both friends and family. For this reason this story is very relatable as well as a fun and enjoyable read. I highly recommend picking up this book.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

2 responses »

  1. I think I enjoy Persuasion as much as Pride & Prejudice. Glad you liked it.

    Reply
  2. hey,

    I’ve read that book as well.It rocks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

