RSS Feed

Good Bones and Simple Murders

Good Bones and Simple Murders
by Margaret Atwood

Inside Flap: “In this collection of short works that defy easy categorization , Margaret Atwood displays the trademark wit and virtuosity of her bestselling novels, brilliant stories, and insightful poetry. Among the miniatures gathered here are Gertrude offering Hamlet a piece of her mind, the real truth about the Little Red Hen, a reincarnated bat explaining how Bram Stoker got Dracula all wrong, and the five home economist methods of making a man. These are parables, monologues, prose poems, condensed science fiction, reconfigured fairy tales, and other diminutive masterpieces–punctuated with charming illustrations by the author.”

My thoughts: I thought I’d try a little something different with this book review. As you have guessed from the above synopsis this is a difficult book to describe. It was rather like reading stream of consciousness, only more beautiful phrased and written than my own clumsy and often awkward thoughts. I did enjoy this book and as I hoped it was a good introduction to Margaret Atwood’s writing. I can certainly see myself reading more of her work in the future.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

Leave a Reply

