RSS Feed

A Shiny Brite Christmas Wish

As Hitler began his march across Europe one American business man looked toward the future. Max Eckardt realized that getting glass Christmas balls from Germany may become difficult, so he began searching for an alternative. Late in the 1930’s he and a representative of F. W. Woolworth’s approached the Corning Company about using one of their machines to create Christmas ornaments. Fortunately, Corning’s machine worked! The Corning Company began manufacturing the Christmas balls and they were sold in Woolworth’s through the 40’s, 50’s, and 60’s. Mr. Eckardt was responsible for painting and decorating these beautiful ornaments. Thriftshopromantic is one of my favorite blogs. Every year at Christmas, she pulls out her lovely collection of Shiny Brites and every year I become envious. Oh, how I’ve coveted those shiny, beautiful baubles. No more. My favorite flea market has opened a second location. Last night, my sweet hubby and I stopped in near closing to check out the new location. We just wanted to do a quick walk through. Fortunately, a familar face was behind the counter and gave us leave to peruse a little more slowly. I walked into one tiny booth full of all kinds of lovelies. I stood looking around and my eyes fell upon a box of ornaments. I couldn’t believe my eyes! I think I even stopped breathing for a moment. It was a box of Shiny Brites! I didn’t waste a moment bringing them home!

Here are my Shiny Brites! Beautiful, shiny, simple Christmas balls that make me smile even if the box is a little beat up.

And, finally here’s a picture of my Christmas tree with adorned with brand new Shiny Brites!

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

Leave a Reply

