RSS Feed

Home Sweet Home

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas. We traveled to my hometown to spend several days with my family. We had a wonderful, happy time. Christmas Eve morning we watched The Muppets A Christmas Carol with my oldest nephew. It is a great movie. Michael Caine turns in an incredible performance as Ebenezer Scrooge. We all had a wonderful time and my nephew agreed that we need to make this an annual tradition. A bit later both nephews and I made pipecleaner ornaments for mom’s tree.

This is the one my youngest nephew made for me. He didn’t like curling the end. The book is where I found the idea for the ornaments.

Later, we sat around the table and enjoyed my sister’s enchiladas. I realize this isn’t a traditional Christmas meal, however, non-tradition is tradition for us. My sister does make wonderful enchiladas and most importantly the family is gathered around the table. After stuffing ourselves silly, we sat around the tree and opened presents. Nothing is more fun than watching little ones open presents!

She just loves to read!

He was so excited to receive those magnetic blocks which had arrived courtesy of UPS just in the nick of time!

Kane loved his bible with the horse on the cover!

My husband made the hat and scarf. My niece really seemed to love them.


I was quite excited about giving my mom her gifts. Hubby made her this scarf. We also made an apron. I embroidered some cherries on one pocket and did some hand-stitching. We had never made an apron before and didn’t have a pattern. It was my first real embroidery project. We were quite proud of the way it turned out and mom seemed quite pleased.

After gifts, we enjoyed my mom’s chocolate chip pie. This is a family favorite and one that I look forward to every year. Mom, Micah, and I headed back to her house a bit later. This lets my sister get the kids in bed and get ready for Santa’s visit. The three of us took the long way home and looked at Christmas lights. The real surprise came when we realized the rain had turned to snow. I can’t even remember the last time I saw snow on Christmas in Southwest AR. It was beautiful and magical!

The snow put us in the perfect mood for watching A White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney. Christmas Day was spent quietly and lazily. The day after Christmas provided us with a little adventure. At about 3 o’clock Mom, Kane, and I went to Wal-Mart to pick up a couple of groceries. We had been in the store for maybe five minutes when they announced that everyone had to leave because there was going to be a citywide power outage. So, we left with only part of our groceries, went home, and waited for the lights to go out. Nothing happened. We decided that it must have just been on the other side of town. We forgot about it until 7:15 PM when we suddenly found ourselves bathed in complete darkness. The boys panicked until we got a little light in the room. Immediately they began to ask, “What are we going to do now?” Fortunately Micah had Kung Fu Panda on his MP3 player and I had thought to bring our portable speakers. The boys were soon happily watching the movie on a 3 inch screen.

Micah and I played a little backgammon and then turned to reading and book lights for further entertainment.

The rest of the trip was less adventurous and quite pleasant. We visited the local flea market, caught the library book sale, and popped into Silver Ink Books. I love to visit this independent bookstore whenever we are in town. It’s beautiful and the owner is quite friendly. I found a 1971 issue of McCall’s do-it-yourself decorating which I hope to share more of with you at a later time. My favorite find was a 1939 edition of Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. I couldn’t wait to start this book and am enjoying it so far. I think the book itself is quite beautiful.

It seems that no matter how wonderful a time we have while traveling it is always nice to be home again! As Dorothy said, “There’s no place like home!”

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. What a wonderful, wonderful Christmas! Thank you for sharing it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

