RSS Feed

Vintage Ad Friday!

courtesy of VintageAdBrowser

I just love vintage ads and postcards. They are so much fun and so pretty, too. Knowing this, my husband recently sent me a link to a site he found full of vintage ads. The author of the site has collected and compiled all kinds of ads just for our perusal. While browsing I was inspired. I decided to share my favorites with you throughout the year in a new feature titled Vintage Ad Fridays. If you like vintage ads, please feel free to join in and leave a link to your favorites. I’d love to see them.

Perfume ads are always so pretty and when I discovered these for Joy I knew I had found my first ad. Joy has been and continues to be my intention word (see posts here and here). I hope through this blog to share a little joy with all of you. I had never heard of this perfume before and naturally had to do a little investigating. It was created by Jean Patou in Paris in 1929.   As you will recall the stock market crash that led to the Great Depression occurred in 1929.  Patou had many American customers and wanted to give a gift of hope to them during a difficult time.  I especially love this story.  Jean Patou was truly seizing, creating, and sharing joy.  The fragrance has double the usual amount of ingredients and, therefore, is the “costliest perfume in the world.” I would love an opportunity to smell this pretty blend of sweet rose and jasmine. The ads themselves are simple and elegant. I absolutely love anything that is simple and elegant. Flashy I am not and I dislike anything that is too much in my face. I hope you enjoy Vintage Ad Fridays and I’ll see you next week!

courtesy of VintageAdBrowser

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. Very nice — looking forward to future posts of this column!

    Greetings from Philipp of Vintage Ad Browser.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

