RSS Feed

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

By Mary Ann Shaffer
and Annie Barrows

I loved this book. It was such an enjoyable read! Getting to know the characters and see their stories unfold was wonderful and beautiful. I laughed and cried while reading this book. It also gave me much to think about. Reading and books have always had an important place in my life. In fact I couldn’t live without my books! It was fascinating to see how books and reading influenced the lives of these people during World War II. Words changed their lives just as they have changed my life and the lives of so many others. This book revealed humanity in war. It showed the good and bad in people, both German and English. I loved the simplicity and sincerity of the people of Guernsey. I so wanted to meet these folks in life and perhaps live on the Island of Guernsey. Of course, I felt the same way about Prince Edward Island after reading Anne of Green Gables. I’ll have to visit both places when I become a world traveler.

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

3 responses »

  1. Loved it, too. Wish there were shelves and shelves of books like this!

    Reply
  2. This was a fantastic book!! I really enjoyed it too.

    Reply
  3. Glad to see you enjoyed this book. It’s one of my favorites for the year, so far. I had the urge to visit the island too..still want to. I even looked up the cost of hotels, etc on the island and went so far as to mention it to my husband (without mentioning the book of course). Maybe one day I’ll make it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

