RSS Feed

We Scout Wednesday – My Childhood Inspiration

Posted on

I first read Little Women by Louisa May Alcott in the 5th grade.  I fell in love with the book, the character of Jo March, and the authoress almost instantly.  Jo is a voracious reader with a wild imagination much like myself.  As I a child I had less confidence than Jo, but I was inspired by her strength.

I have read the book several times over the years and have fallen more and more in love.  I own three movie versions of the story.  My favorite stars June Allyson, Janet Leigh, Elizabeth Taylor, and Margaret O’Brien.  Whether reading or watching I laugh and cry along with the characters as I’m swept away to another time and place.

I even own a set of porcelain dolls which includes all four sisters and Marmee. My mom and a friend helped me bring the dolls to a toy store an hour away from home.  The artist was there and she signed each of my dolls.  They are precious so to me.

I have serveral books about Lousia May Alcott as well.  Her life was interesting and she, too has become a role model.  She knew Ralph Waldo Emerson and she supported her family with her writing.  She was unconventional for her time.

I will always hold a special place in my heart for Jo March and her sisters.

What Book Character Are You?
Jo (from Little Women)
Jo (from Little Women)
You care deeply for your family, who are pretty much your best friends. You are a bit of wild child, who doesn’t always play by the rules. You don’t care an atom about what other people think. You have a brilliant imagination and your life never has a dull moment.
How do you compare?
Take this test! | Tests from Testriffic
About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

One response »

  1. I read a tiny bit about Louisa Alcott, I found it interesting that she wrote for children but didn’t like them and that she was addicted to ladanum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

