RSS Feed

Why do you make?

Tara of Scoutie Girl poses the question, “Why do you make?” It is an interesting question and one I’ve been thinking about for several days. Why do I make? The simpliest, easiest answer would be that it’s fun. I derive a great deal of enjoyment out of the process of creating. I love playing with paper, scisssors, crayons, and glue. The child within responds to the very act of making something. Creating goes beyond the act. There is something deeper at play. I have a yearning, a need to create. It is something deep inside that struggles to be free. Many hours in the day must be spent in cleaning, paying bills, buying groceries, and just generally tending to responsibilities. These things I do willingly, but if I go too long without creating I become quite cranky. My spirit finds joy, peace, and even comfort in creating something of beauty that will bring joy to others or just simply make our home warm and inviting. I love homemade vs. store bought because homemade is unique and there is something of the creator in the creation. Someone took the time to make something special and one-of-a-kind just for me. I want to give these kinds of gifts. I want to give and share things that have meaning. I do buy off the shelf, but even then I strive to pick gifts that will suit the recipient and bring joy. This is often easier when the item is handmade. There are so many little touches that one can add to home and gifts that add joy and value. These little touches can’t be purchased at a box store. They come from the heart and the hand. So, why do I make? I make because its fun, joyful, and meaningful! I make because I must!

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

Leave a Reply

