RSS Feed

My Dream Library

A library is place to read and so should be well lit. This is what one would think, however, my dream library is dark. I love natural light for reading and therefore will have a very large window. Near that a chaise lounge with a darling little side table. All the wood in the room must be dark and at least one wall needs floor to ceiling shelves with a library ladder. I adore library ladders! My library simply must have one. All other shelves/shelving must have glass doors or be open. I want to see all of my books! Another corner will have a leather chair and ottoman with a floor lamp. I also want a small writing desk for keeping in touch with friends and family. It must be a roll top or drop lid with lots of little nooks and crannies. I want dark hardwood floors with a huge rug and dark, thick drapes on the window. For decorations I will need some pretty bookends, a wall decal reminiscent of Edgar Allan Poe, and a painting or two. I really want the painting of a girl reading which is pictured above. We had a copy of this painting in our house growing up and I’ve always loved it. It would make me think of home and warmth and coziness. As for colors, everything should be in dark browns, reds, and golds. And there you have it, my dream library courtesy of Olioboard.

What does your dream library look like? Please share!

About lovelylissie

I love reading, kewpies, butterflies, thrifting, and all things vintage. I am happily married and live in NE Texas.

Leave a Reply

